2 BBC Folk Award Nominations

Ey Up one and all,

As always I hope that this finds you well πŸ™‚

Well, what can I say, last night the finalists for the 2012 BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards were announced. I am blown away to be able to say that I received nominations in two categories. Firstly for the Horizon Award (which is a best newcomer type thing) and secondly for Best Traditional Track with Maids When You’re Young.

I gotta say this: AAAARRRRGGGGHHHHHYYYYAAAAAAAAAAYYYYYY!!!!!!

I am just so excited, and overwhelmed and, well, there just aren’t words to describe quite how this feels. I know that it sounds cheesy but it honestly is just wonderful. I couldn’t of asked for this year to go better…in fact the only way it could be improved is if I get a pink unicorn for my birthday next month! πŸ˜€

Last year, I listened to the folk awards in my car in a travelodge carpark (no radio in my room and I couldn’t get the wifi to work). I was in the middle of recording ‘Adelphi Has To Fly’, and I distinctly remember thinking: ‘I wonder if?’ and to be nominated just a year later, and in two categories…well…it’s just mental! πŸ˜€

I know I sound like I am gushing, and I guess I am…and I know this all sounds so mushy but i am just so pleased to be among so many wonderful musicians, I seriously do consider it an honour.

In the Best Traditional Track category, the other nominees are Emily Smith, Martin Simpson and June Tabor and Oysterband. As I was just saying it is quite surreal to be in a category with such legends. June is my hero, I didn’t grow up with folk music and it was listening to her (someone lent me a cd at an open mic night) that got me really interested in traditional songs and performance…and well…I’ve said it plenty of times before but I really do see June as one of my key influences. So really it is totally ridiculous, very daft and just wonderful to be in the same category as her.

Who knows I might even get a chance to say hello to her at the awards ceremony in February πŸ™‚

You can listen to the Mike Harding’s show here: http://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/episode/b017226g/Mike_Harding_16_11_2011/

Looking very happy at all the mess I made at the recent Cupola:Ward shoot πŸ™‚

Just a few other notes: Congratulations to everyone who got nominated! πŸ™‚ And did you notice the Derbyshire theme running through the folk awards? Home Service (John Tams), Bella Hardy, 2/3rds of Lady Maisery, myself, Andy Cutting (although he is really aΒ southerner hehe) and Blair Dunlop all from this fair county. Must be something in the water hehe πŸ™‚

Well my first ever headline tour is now slowly coming to and end (full blog to come about that in a week or so), and there’s not many gigs left until the festive season is upon us. Although I am looking forward to supporting Emily Portman (The musician, Leicester, 22/11/2011) and Uiscedwr on their last ever gig (Rugby Roots,10/12/2011). In addition to that a few charity do’s and a gig with my new collaborative project with Cupola:Ward (Brewtown Folk Club, Burton, 18/11/2011). So It’s all looking good before 2012 commences πŸ˜€

Anyways, you all take care, and I’ll hope to see you soon

Luce x

3 responses to “2 BBC Folk Award Nominations

Leave a comment