Glasto 2013

Ey Up you lot,

How be ye this fine morrow?

Here I am, 2 years on, about to write another epically long blog about Glastonbury Festival…but this time, it’s different, this time I can finally say

I PLAYED GLASTONBURY

Oh man that feel’s good to say 😀 And on a mainstage and everything!!

Friday at 13:40 saw my Glastonbury debut on the acoustic stage and what a scary, exciting and awesome experience it was. I don’t think I have ever been as nervous as I was before that gig, i must have put my hair up and back down again over 20 times in the dressing room hehe, I paced, I tuned my guitar A LOT, I stressed about my choice of dress, I forgot my lucky socks, I stressed about forgetting my lucky socks, I cried…It was a roller coaster I can tell you :p and when it was finally time to go on stage, instead of the usual adrenaline that kicks in I had this daunting sense of ‘this is the moment you’ve been waiting for, you better smash it, else what was the point in waiting so long?!’

That sounds very negative, but I guess because I love the festival so much, that actually being part of it felt like a big responsibility, I was going to become part of someones Glastonbury experience…on a more selfish note I was only going to get one chance to live my dream and to mess it up now would be a total bummer.

Having said all of that – as soon as I walked on stage, saw that gorgeous crowd of people…I really wasn’t expecting such an awesome turn out… all the usual gig emotions took over and I played, sung my heart out and enjoyed every moment. It was over in a flash.

I never usual take photos from the stage but I just had to do it this time :) sorry for the blurryness

I never usual take photos from the stage but I just had to do it this time 🙂 sorry for the blurryness

The acoustic stage crew were all completely golden, every person I met was friendly and helpful and their awesomeness totally topped off the experience. There was also a whole alice in wonderland theme going on backstage which totally rocked! 😀 find pics in my facebook album 🙂

So aside from gigging, the festival was brill (as per usual) here is a rundown of top moments (in no particular order)

  • Rolling Stones – I have always joked that the stones are the last massive, legendary act I needed to see before I shuffle off this mortal coil, they probably aren’t, I’d really like to see Joni Mitchell and ooo a bunch of other artists live but hey they are certainly up there as ones to watch. Now don’t get me wrong, I know they can’t do it like they could when they were 20 but sometimes the right party atmosphere, dancing and singing a long to your favourite tunes on the hill in front of the pyramid stage is what it’s all about and we had a ball 😀
  • Oysterband – Now, spending my time on the road at clubs and festivals I have seen oysterband A LOT, but I tell you something, this is the first ever time that I have watched them from the audience, I have always watched from back and side stage before and although they are always great (and the nicest bunch of fella’s on the scene!) this was something else. We were jumping around, dancing and singing – both me and rob left that gig with completely hoarse voices (good job it was after my set hehe)
  • Greenpeace farmers market cake – The greenpeace field is always grand, they work very hard to present their message in a really fun and accessible way so that people who might not have encountered them before can get involved and this year their field was amazing. Their message was about climate change and the melting of the polar ice caps so although the sun shone on glastonbury for 95% of the time it was always snowing (eco foam) at the GP field. With giant polar bears and ice caps it was like stepping into another world! They also had a fantastic farmers market there that sold the finest cakes in all the land. This was a particular favourite:
YUM!

Carrot cake with lime cream! YUM!

  • Amanda Palmer – is a long-standing favourite of mine. I first got into her music in my teens listening to The Dresden Dolls and I always have a soft spot for ladies with gumption and Amanda is certainly that. I missed her set with her new band as it clashed with my own but lucky for me she played the radical round-up (radical songwriters in the round) with Billy Bragg at the leftfield. She made me cry and laugh, proper authentic, raw, musical goodness 🙂
  • Billy Bragg and Phil Jupitus – the very first time I saw Billy Bragg on the left field stage back in 2000 he blew my mind and I have been a massive fan ever since. I have seen him collaborate with all kinds of great people but Phil Jupitus’ rewrite of ‘Sexuality’ may well have blown everything else out the water! somebody actually managed to catch the moment and handily put it on youtube so go an have a look of you get the time.
  • yeo valley greek yog and honey froyo…no need to say more

froyo

  • sparkly cape – Oh man finding this made my day, and then I decided not to buy it, then it made my next day, and I decided not to buy it, and then I went with my mum and she assured me it had to be mine 😀
Shinyness

Shinyness

  • Hanging out in the Permaculture  drinking home-made organic cider and apple juice in the sunshine
  • I can’t escape mentioning it again…MY GIG…WAHOOOOOOO 😀

This blog has taken me about 4 days to write, and I still don’t think I have gotten the essence of the festival, or the gig or any of it over to you but I am aware that no matter how long I work on this I might never achieve it so you guys take care and hopefully I’ll catch you in those fields next year 🙂

Luce xx

Leave a Reply

